Duhon honored by state educators association



Asst. Superintendent Dr. Brenda Goates Duhon is presented with her copy of the recently published 2018-19 War Whoop yearbook on Sept. 14, 2019. Several of this year’s staff are returning advanced journalism students. Some will help produce the book for the first time.


Twenty school leaders were recently named TEPSANs of the Year by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). Members from the 20 TEPSA Regions across the state annually honor a colleague for their outstanding service to the association. Award recipients must be committed to advancing the principalship and the association, as well as serving as a voice for Texas students.

Honorees will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Reception Wednesday, June 17, at the Austin Renaissance Hotel.

The 2020 TEPSANs of the Year are:

  • Lela Culberson, Wernecke Elementary, Sharyland ISD, Region 1
  • Debra Litton, Wood River Elementary, Calallen ISD, Region 2
  • Katherine Schuelke, Patti Welder Middle School, Victoria ISD, Region 3
  • Raymond Stubblefield, Whitcomb Elementary, Clear Creek ISD, Region 4
  • Brenda Duhon, Port Neches-Groves ISD, Region 5
  • Amy Bay, Sul Ross Elementary, Bryan ISD, Region 6
  • Barbara Dutton, Northside Primary, Palestine ISD, Region 7
  • Patti O’Bannon, Nash Elementary, Texarkana ISD, Region 8
  • Alexandra Martin, Fowler Elementary, Wichita Falls ISD, Region 9
  • Amanda Schmitter, Garner Fine Arts Academy, Grand Prairie ISD, Region 10
  • Rebekah Hinkle, STEAM Academy at Stribling Elementary, Burleson ISD, Region 11
  • Julie Sapaugh, Brook Avenue Elementary, Waco ISD, Region 12
  • Soor-el Puga, Marble Falls ISD, Region 13
  • Jeffrey Brokovich, Johnston Elementary, Abilene ISD, Region 14
  • Rudy Rudewick, Eldorado Elementary, Schleicher County ISD, Region 15
  • Mike Word, Clarendon Elementary, Clarendon ISD, Region 16
  • Sherrie Warren, FJ Young Elementary, Seminole ISD, Region 17
  • Tracie Burrow, Parker Elementary, Midland ISD, Region 18
  • Leslie Thomas, Cactus Trails Elementary, Socorro ISD, Region 19
  • Cynthia De La Garza, Collins Garden Elementary, San Antonio ISD, Region 20

“We are grateful for the work these leaders do to serve members in their communities on behalf of the Association. They are integral to our success,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.

TEPSA, whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of more than 3 million PK-8 school children. Learn more at www.tepsa.org.